Skip To Main Content

Activities & Clubs

Layout Element

TABB HIGH CLUBS & ORGANIZATIONS
(See descriptions below)

2022-2023 

  CLUB ADVISOR ADVISOR EMAIL
  Anime Mr. Grube egrube@ycsd.york.va.us
  Amnesty Club Mrs. Burkart dburkart@ycsd.york.va.us
  Beta Club Ms. Miller, Ms. Milne, and Ms. White smiller@ycsd.york.va.us
  Bowling Club Ms. White mwhite@ycsd.york.va.us
  Chess Club Ms. Grandon agrandon@ycsd.york.va.us
  Club Earth Ms. Grigonis & Ms. Kast kgrigonis@ycsd.york.va.us
  Crochet Corner Ms. Harry sharry@ycsd.york.va.us
  Debate Mr. Carter jcarter2@ycsd.york.va.us
  DECA Ms. Majka, Ms. Pitchford, and Mr. Munn cmajka@ycsd.york.va.us
  Dungeons and Dragons Mr. Heiser sheiser@ycsd.york.va.us
  E-Sports Mr. Overbeck and Mr. Downs ddowns@ycsd.york.va.us
  ELL Ms. Chambers cchambers@ycsd.york.va.us
  Explore Every Opportunity Ms. Hinkley lhinkley@ycsd.york.va.us
  FBLA Mr. Chai gchai@ycsd.york.va.us
  FCA Ms. Jarozewski bjaroszewski@ycsd.york.va.us
  Forensics Ms. Coffman-Nivison scoffman-nivison@ycsd.york.va.us
  Girls Mentorship Ms. Jones and Ms. Cotman ejones@ycsd.york.va.us
  Club Ignite Mr. Howell & Ms. Dabbs rhowell@ycsd.york.va.us
  Key Club Ms. Carpenter & Ms. Crowley jcarpenter2@ycsd.york.va.us
  Kid Wind Ms. Miller and Ms. White smiller@ycsd.york.va.us
  Lacrosse Ms. Turner

lturner@ycsd.york.va.us

  Literary Magazine Ms. Powers dpowers@ycsd.york.va.us
  Medical Club Mr. Howell & Ms. Dabbs rhowell@ycsd.york.va.us
  Model U.N. Mr. McGovern and Ms. Colbert bmcgovern@ycsd.york.va.us
  Multicultural Club Ms. Hinkley & Ms. Mock kmock@ycsd.york.va.us
  Newspaper Ms. Pope scoffman-nivison@ycsd.york.va.us
  Operation Smile Ms. Fleenor dfleenor@ycsd.york.va.us
  Psychology Club Mr. Stone kstone@ycsd.york.va.us
  Robotics Ms. Miller & Ms. White smiller@ycsd.york.va.us
  Safety Club Ms. Koontz mkoontz@ycsd.york.va.us
  SCA Ms. Terndrup lterndrup@ycsd.york.va.us
  Scholastic Bowl Ms. Shematek lshematek@ycsd.york.va.us
  THS Fishing Club Mr. Rush jrush@ycsd.york.va.us
  THS Science Fair Ms. Speight gspeight@ycsd.york.va.us
  THS Book Club: No Shelf Control Ms. Hinkley lhinkley@ycsd.york.va.us
  Tabb Pickleball Association Ms. Kast, Ms. Hinkley, Mr. Downs, Mr. Stone akast@ycsd.york.va.us
  THS Yard Games Ms. Koontz mkoontz@ycsd.york.va.us
  Tabb Student Ambassadors Ms. Shepard & Ms. Grigonis cshepard@ycsd.york.va.us
  Tiger Friends Ms. Jones and Ms. Shepard ejones@ycsd.york.va.us
  Tiger Pride/GSA Ms. Turner & Ms. Campbell lturner@ycsd.york.va.us
  True Crime Club Ms. Grandon agrandon@ycsd.york.va.us
  TSA (Tech. Student Association) Mr. Brownschidle rbrownschidle@ycsd.york.va.us
  Unified Tigers/Unified Tiger e-Sports Ms. Newmarker & Ms. Coffman-Nivison jnewmarker@ycsd.york.va.us
  Va. Math League Mr. Martin cmartin@ycsd.york.va.us
  Y-Street Ms. Pitchford lpitchford@ycsd.york.va.us
  Youth Volunteer Club Ms. Burkart dburkart@ycsd.york.va.us
       
  HONOR SOCIETY ADVISOR ADVISOR EMAIL
  BETA Ms. Miller, Ms. White, Ms. Milne smiller@ycsd.york.va.us
  Art Honor Society Ms. Thames sthames@ycsd.york.va.us
  English Honor Society Ms. Grandon agrandon@ycsd.york.va.us
  French Honor Society Ms. Rowe crowe@ycsd.york.va.us
  Mu Alpha Theta Ms. Miller & Ms. White smiller@ycsd.york.va.us
  National Honor Society Ms. Zizzi nzizzi@ycsd.york.va.us
  Quill and Scroll Ms. Chamberlain jchamberlain@ycsd.york.va.us
  Rho Kappa Ms. Terndrup & Ms. Curry lterndrup@ycsd.york.va.us
  Science National Honor Society Ms. Crowley and Ms. Kast akast@ycsd.york.va.us
  Thespians Ms. Milne emilne@ycsd.york.va.us
  Tri-M Mr. Lawson blawson@ycsd.york.va.us
       
  CLASS ADVISOR ADVISOR EMAIL
  Freshman Class Mr. Stone kstone@ycsd.york.va.us
  Sophomore Class Ms. Koontz & Ms. Pope mkoontz@ycsd.york.va.us
  Junior Class Ms. Jaroszewski & Ms. Newmarker jnewmarker@ycsd.york.va.us
  Senior Class Coach Olson & Ms. Tucker lolson2@ycsd.york.va.us

ANIME Club

Provides exposure to this popular Japanese form of animation of artwork and promotes appreciation of art in general. 

BETA Club

Promotes ideals of service, character, leadership, and academic achievement through group presentations, projects, and competitions. 

Bowling Club

Consists of all those who wish to bowl competitively in the Peninsula High School Traveling League.  Over the years, multiple teams have represented Tabb.  Its purpose is friendly, bi-weekly competition during the winter season. 

Club Earth

Works to promote environmental action and awareness both at Tabb High School and within the community. 

Debate Club

Was the first activity offered to public schools through the VHSL.  At Tabb High School we have worked at becoming a traditionally strong Lincoln-Douglas team. 

DECA

DECA prepares emerging leaders and entrepreneurs in marketing, finance, hospitality and management in high schools around the globe. DECA brings the classroom to life with exciting guest speakers, field trips, conferences, competition, scholarships, and more. Interested students must be enrolled in a marketing course to join DECA.

ELL

The ELL Club serves to support English Language Learners, by providing language practice, as well as cultural enrichment activities and support. 

Explore Every Opportunity

Explore Every Opportunity is a group of students who want to support new THS students and help them make meaningful connections at school. 

FBLA

Helps to develop competent, aggressive business leadership through strengthening the confidence of students in themselves and their work. 

Forensics

VHSL sponsored activity in which students compete for medals and trophies by presenting speeches, scenes, poems, cuttings, and stories.

Girls Mentorship Club

This mentoring group is designed to provide a rich and rewarding student experience enhancing self-esteem and building confidence through high school by creating positive social and academic experiences. 

Model United Nations

Model United Nations is a debate and simulation activity which allows students to learn about world issues while improving public speaking, negotiation, and resech skills.  Students typcally take the role of a specific country and participate within a single committee modeled after real world bodies such as the WHO, General Assembly, and many more.  At conferences, delegates attempt to pass resolutions through debate and negotiation with fellow delegates. 

Robotics

Teams of students create, build, and program robots to complete tasks on a competitive playing field.

Quill and Scroll

Quill and Scroll International Honorary Society for High School Journalists encourages and recognizes individual student achievement in journalism and scholastic publication. Quill and Scroll is only open to enrolled and eligible Mass Media II students (Yearbook). 

Science National Honor Society

The purpose of the Science National Honor Society is to encourage participation and recognition of scientific and intellectual thought.  Application requirements apply.

Scholastic Bowl

Scholastic Bowl is a trivia-based sport in which teams of 4 compete against each other in answering questions that cover just about everything, from literature to science to video games. Top players can earn a letter for being a part of a successful team.

Sight and Sound

A service/profit organization where students learn how to work the lighting and sounds systems at THS. $$ can be earned when working for non-school groups using our building.

Tabb Student Ambassadors

Provides and promotes a positive view of Tabb High School by encouraging involvement and orienting students.  Its major event each year is the Club Fair held in late September.  Members serve as tour guides for new students and parents. 

Tigers Crushing Cancer

Tigers Crushing Cancer is the school’s Relay for Life team that raises money for American Cancer Society throughout the year.

Tiger Friends

A student tutoring group that serves Tabb Elementary School.  Application process is required.

THS Book Club: No Shelf Control

No Shelf Control is a student-centered book club that meets twice a month to discuss their chosen book and all the great things they're currently reading.

TSA

A national organization for technology education students.  The mission is to promote leadership and personal growth in technology. 

Unfied Tigers/Unified Tiger e-Sports

Students with or without disabilities work together through fun competitions that promote inclusion and generate school spirit. 

Virginia Math League

A series of 6 tests per year, consisting of 6 questions each with a 30 minute time limit.  Schools compete state-wide. 

Y-Street

Y-Street is the Virginia Foundation For Healthy Youth’s award-winning volunteer initiative for high school students. Since 2004, THS Members have developed skills to engage in their communities and drive positive change. Through student-led events, we’re working to make a healthier Virginia for us all.